Hoosier Racing Tire

Alex Bowman celebrating after his win at Iowa Speedway (photo courtesy of www.arcaracing.com)NEWTON, IA (July 13, 2012) -- Alex Bowman captured his third ARCA Series win of the season at Iowa Speedway Friday night as the series began the second half of its 2012 race schedule.

The Arizona driver led 93 of 202 race laps in the Prairie Meadows 200 en route to his fifth win in just 13 career starts.

Forty cars were on hand for qualifying with Brennan Poole setting fast time for the event. Poole circled the .875-mile paved oval in 23.799 seconds (132.359 mph).

Alex Bowman was second on the speed charts with a time of 23.827 seconds (132.203 mph), while Ryan Reed, Chad Boat and Clay Rogers rounded out the top five in qualifying. 

The race featured seven leaders among five different drivers including; Brennan Poole 1-74 (74 laps), Clay Rogers 75-76, 83-86 (6 laps), Grant Enfinger 77-82 (6 laps), Alex Bowman 87-128, 152-202 (93 laps), Frank Kimmel 129-151 (23 laps).

Brennan Poole dominated the first half of the race building a lead just over nine seconds before suffering the first of two cut tires on lap 75. 

The middle stages of the race saw Clay Rogers, Grant Enfinger, Alex Bowman and Frank Kimmel swap the lead before Alex Bowman took command. 

Bowman moved into the lead for the second and final time on lap 152. 

Bowman led the final 51 laps en route to his third win of the season. 

Grant Enfinger finished in second .662 seconds behind the race winner. Enfinger started eighth before finishing in the runner-up spot. 

Chad Boat finished third followed by Clay Rogers and Frank Kimmel in fourth and fifth, respectively.

Following the win, Bowman commented, "I want to thank everyone at Cunningham Motorsports; Paul Andres, Kerry Scherer, Briggs Cunningham, everybody at Penske Engines." 

The race was slowed seven times for cautions for a total of 45 laps. 

Chris Buescher takes over the lead in the driver standings with a 13th place finish at Iowa Speedway following Brennan Poole's disappointing 28th place finish. Poole slips to second place in the rankings--45 points behind Buescher.

Alex Bowman remains in third place in the standings narrowing the gap from 165 to 75 points heading into the next event this Saturday, July 21, at Chicagoland Speedway.

Hoosier is proud to be the exclusive tire provider to the ARCA Racing Series

Members of the Hoosier Tire track service team at Iowa Speedway included; David Wroblewski, Rick Tostevin, Ken Kolter, Kevin Perkins, Ryan Craft, Cameron McMichael and Mike Haenes.

To learn more about the ARCA Series and its events you can visit www.arcaracing.com.  


Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright 2012 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.  Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.