Take the "Checkers" on Hoosier Tires!Hoosier Racing TireTake the "Checkers" on Hoosier Tires!




Darrell Lanigan hoisting the $100,000 winner's check flanked by Mr. & Mrs. Earl & Baltes owners of Eldora Speedway. (Photo courtesy of Rick Schwallie).  ROSSBURG, OH (June 7) -- Darrell Lanigan has been close a couple of times in the past having finished runner-up in both the Dream and the World 100, but that all changed Saturday night when the Union, KY driver won the famed Dream IX race at Eldora Speedway. The 33-year old veteran driver collected $100,000 for the win over 132 other dirt late model drivers. The race was sanctioned by UMP which has a Hoosier tire rule for its competitors. Drivers from across the country converged on the famous 1/2-mile track hoping to win the $100,000 prize. From 16-year-old Justin Allgaier to 67-year-old Johnny Johnson, all were hoping to gain entry into the elite 24-car field for the 100-lap Dream race.

Rain on Friday forced what was to be a two-day show into a huge one-day event on Saturday with 133 drivers posting times in qualifying. Brian Birkhofer set fast time on his first lap of 17.059 seconds followed by Tim Hitt and Jeep VanWormer. 

The 133 drivers were divided into six heats. The top 3 finishers from each heat gained entry into the feature, while drivers finishing in positions 4-6 moved to the B-feature and those finishing in positions 7-10 went to the C-feature. The six heat race winners were Steve Francis, Steve Shaver, Billy Moyer, Darrell Lanigan, Jay Johnson and Matt Miller.

The C-feature, which transferred six drivers to the B-feature, was won by Brandon Kinzer followed by Billy Drake, Josh Williams, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Terry English and Jesse Lay.

The B-feature, which transferred four drivers into the $100,000 A-main race, was won by Dale McDowell. McDowell was followed by Brian Harris, Shannon Babb and Shawn Toczek.

The 133-car field was finally whittled down to 24 cars for the night's big event. Jay Johnson and Matt Miller started the race on the front row. When the green flag fell, Miller immediately took the lead with second row starter Darrell Lanigan quickly moving into second. Lanigan battled Miller for the first nine circuits before finally taking the lead on lap 10. Lanigan defended his leader status for the next 91 laps en route to claiming the biggest win of the 33-year-old's career. The exciting race was uninterrupted and took a total of 29 minutes to complete.

Following Lanigan to the finish line, approximately five car-lengths behind the race winner, was Brian Birkhofer in second followed by Billy Moyer, Steve Francis and Scott James to round out the top five.

New Hoosier Dirt Product Manager Shanon Rush attended the event on a soggy Friday and used the opportunity to introduce himself to the many teams and drivers in attendance.

Hoosier Racing Tire is the official spec tire of the Midwestern-based UMP Series and is used exclusively at all of Eldora's marquis dirt late model events--including the Dream and the World 100. UMP tire sizes include the LM8611, LM8811, LM9011 and LM9211 in five specific compounds--M10, M20, M30, M40 and M60. For more details about the Dream IX race or the UMP Series, visit www.umpracing.com.       


Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright 2003 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.
 Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.