Take the "Checkers" on Hoosier Tires!Hoosier Racing TireTake the "Checkers" on Hoosier Tires!




Terry McCarl among his many "crew members" finally in victory lane at East Bay. (Photo courtesy of Allan Holland and www.hoseheads.com)TAMPA, FL (February 12) -- Terry McCarl, winner of five consecutive 410-sprint track championships at Knoxville Raceway in Iowa, captured his first-ever win at Florida's East Bay Raceway Park Thursday night when race leader Jim Nier slowed after completing lap 24 thinking it was the final lap. The momentary lapse in judgment was just enough for McCarl and two other drivers to motor past Nier at the finish line. McCarl pocketed $4,000 for the win. Once again, the Hoosier brand dominated the second night of racing in the 28th Annual 410 Sprint Winternationals sweeping the first 15 positions in the night's 25-lap feature race. Hoosier Open Wheel Dirt Product Manager Neil Cowman attended the annual event and provided the details for this report.

Thirty-three cars (32 on Hoosiers) posted times in qualifying on the 1/3-mile track with Jeff Shepard setting fast time with a lap of 13.079 seconds. Terry McCarl was second fastest at 13.085 seconds followed by Craig Dollansky, Jesse Giannetto and Jim Nier as Hoosier-shod cars posted the 22 fastest times in qualifying.

There were four heat races contested with each being won by a driver using the Hoosier brand. Last night's winner Joey Saldana won the first heat, while Jeremy Campbell, Nick Naber and Lance Dewease were the other three heat winners.

In the 25-lap feature, Shane Stewart and Jim Nier started on the front row with Nier and his Hoosier D10/RD12 rear drive combination taking the lead at the outset. From there, Nier was in command of the race leading through the 24th lap. That's when Nier lifted off the gas pedal thinking he saw a checkered flag waving as he crossed the line with one-to-go. This allowed Terry McCarl, who was in hot pursuit riding on a pair of Hoosier D10's, to quickly close the distance and overtake Nier for the $4,000 winner's purse. The error also allowed Shane Stewart to take second and Craig Dollansky to claim third. Both Stewart and Dollansky opted to run the 25-lap sprint using a pair of RD12's. Nier settled for a fourth place finish with Greg Hodnett (RD12/RD12) rounding out the top five.

Greg Leonard, Jeff Shepard, Sammy Swindell, Danny Smith and Joey Saldana finished sixth through tenth, while Fred Rahmer, Jeremy Campbell, Lance Dewease, Nick Naber and Ed Lynch, Jr. completed the top-fifteen sweep for Team-Hoosier. 

The 28th Annual 410 Sprint Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park resumes tonight with the third of four nights of action heading into Saturday's big finale. 

The Hoosier brand remains undefeated in open competition 410 Sprint racing during the 2004 Speedweeks in Florida.  


Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright 2004 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.
 Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.