Take the Checkers !Hoosier Racing TireTake the Checkers !




Lance Dewease after capturing his 3rd All Star Speedweeks win, this at East Bay Raceway on Thursday. (photo courtesy of Allan Holland and hoseheads.com)GIBSONTON, FL (February 14) -- Lance Dewease notched his third All Star Speedweek victory at Florida's East Bay Raceway Thursday night. Dewease, riding atop a pair of Hoosier D10 tires, captured the 25-lap A-main. The victory was Dewease's third after five events in All Star Speedweek competition and was also the fifth consecutive winner on Hoosier tires. Danny Lasoski and Kasey Kahne were the other Speedweek winners. Racing resumes Friday with two shows: Wednesday's washout is rescheduled for noon Friday with the regularly scheduled race following later in the evening. 

Sixty-five cars posted times in qualifying around the 1/3-mile East Bay track with 54 on Hoosier rubber. Chad Kemenah set a new track record on a pair of Hoosier D10's. Kemenah's time was 11.638 seconds, beating the previous mark of 12.118 seconds set last year by Craig Dollansky. 

The track was so fast in qualifying that the top ten times bettered the previous track record. The top 14 times were posted by drivers on Hoosier tires. 

In the five preliminary 8-lap heat races, Team-Hoosier captured four wins. Hoosier-shod heat race winners were: Terry McCarl, Fred Rahmer, Dean Jacobs and Gary Wright. 

The 12-lap B-main was also a Hoosier victory as Chad Kemenah took the race win.

In the 25-lap A-main, 26 cars took the green flag with 23 cars on USA-made Hoosier tires. Tim Shaffer took the race lead at the outset over pole-sitter Shane Stewart. On lap 11, Shaffer tangled with a lapped car causing him to hit the turn-one wall. Although unhurt, Shaffer was unable to continue.

On the restart, it was Lance Dewease out front followed by Danny Lasoski. Dewease would hold off several charges by the 2001 Pennzoil World of Outlaws champion to take the victory and pocket the $4,000 winner's paycheck.

Following Dewease across the finish line was Danny Lasoski and Craig Dollansky.  The top three finishers elected to run atop a pair of Hoosier D10's for the 25-lap race. 

The final finishing order had Team-Hoosier capturing the top 13 positions. Rounding out 4th through 13th was: Shane Stewart, Fred Rahmer, Byron Reed, Billy Pauch, Joey Saldana, Chad Kemenah, Gary Wright, Dean Jacobs, Paul McMahan and Danny Smith. 

Racing resumes Friday with two shows. Wednesday's make-up will begin at noon with time trials with the regularly scheduled show to be run in the evening. All Star Speedweek will conclude Saturday with the $26,000-to-win race. 

Hoosier Open Wheel Dirt Product Manager Neil Cowman remains in Florida through the completion of All Star Speedweek competition and will provide reports to be posted on Monday morning.  


Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright 2002 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.
 Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.