Take the "Checkers" on Hoosier Tires!Hoosier Racing TireTake the "Checkers" on Hoosier Tires!



Submitted by: Paula Nate

Lakeville, IN (July 3-5, 2008) – BGB Motorsports gambled on a one-stop pit strategy Saturday in Grand-Am KONI Challenge Series Grand Sport (GS) competition and it paid off, as David Murry outlasted Bill Auberlen by 0.307 seconds to take the team’s second GS victory of the season at Watkins Glen International, round five on the circuit. 

Running near empty, Murry led the final 28 laps of the caution-plagued 55-lap race in the No. 38 BGB Motorsports Porsche 997 he shared with Tim Traver.  

Auberlen, in the No. 96 Turner Motorsport BMW M3, drove through the field after co-driver Matthew Alhadeff started 17th and moved up the charts. But he was unable to make a passing attempt on Murry, despite shadowing him under the checkered flag. The leaders ran their best laps on Lap 54, with Auberlen setting the race’s fastest lap of 2:04.495 (98.316 mph).    

Hopwood, Burrows Give Compass360 Racing Its First Victory of the Season 

Defending series co-champions Trevor Hopwood and Adam Burrows each led in their first career Grand-Am KONI Challenge Series Street Tuner (ST) victory, as Hopwood beat Bob Endicott by a second-and-a-half. 

Hopwood took the lead on Lap 45 in the No. 74 Compass360 Racing Acura TSX and pulled away from Tom Long on the final caution, leaving Long to battle with Endicott for second place. Hopwood and Burrows are in their second year of competition on the circuit. 

Burrows took the lead when polesitter Aaron Povoledo – who led a race-high 14 laps – pitted during the first caution. He brought the No. 74 in later, and Hopwood charged through the field before taking the lead from Long. 

Endicott, who returned to the No. 29 Bill Fenton Motorsports Honda Civic Si with former co-driver Bob Beede, drove past Long just before the final caution to take second.  

The next Grand-Am KONI Challenge Series race is the GS-only race Saturday, July 19 at Barber Motorsports Park near Birmingham , Ala. 


Rhett O’Doski ( Third ST, No. 146 Freedom Autosport Mazda MX-5): “Congratulations to all the podium teams; they did a great job today. I was telling Derek Whitis, one of the team principals, that I have one of the best jobs…We decided to name our team Freedom Autosport mostly for the men and women in the armed services that have been defending our country for the past 232 years. We feel very honored to have finished on the podium first on Memorial Day and again this weekend, the Fourth of July weekend. Thanks again to the men and women in uniform.”  

The event was serviced by Hoosier Racing Tire with a service team of:  Jim Bartholomew, Eriks Bers, Jake Budezielek, Luke Morris, Rick Sisk, Jordan Szymanowski and Jeff Yute.
Engineers: Matt Marlow.
Product Manager: Scott Huffer.  

For more information about the Grand American Road Racing Series please visit www.grand-am.com.


Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright © 2008 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.
 Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.