Take the "Checkers" on Hoosier Tires!Hoosier Racing TireTake the "Checkers" on Hoosier Tires!



Tony Hirschman (car #48) captures his 5th NASCAR Modified Tour championship on Hoosiers! (Photo courtesy of Howie Hodge)THOMPSON, CT (October 30, 2005) -- Jerry Marquis came from the eighth starting position to claim his third win of the season in the season-ending NASCAR Modified Tour Series Whelen/Xtra Mart 125 at Thompson International Speedway Sunday night. The event was originally scheduled for September 11th, but had to be rescheduled multiple times due to bad weather. The wait simply added to the excitement and suspense as Teddy Christopher entered the event with a slim 36 point margin over Northampton, Pennsylvania's Tony Hirschman. But when Christopher made contact with the wall on lap 10, Hirschman's shot at the title was within reach. Christopher finished a disappointing 30th, while Hirschman came home 12th giving the diminutive driver his second consecutive series championship by just 18 points. It was Hirschman's fifth overall championship in the NASCAR Modified Tour Series which competes exclusively on Hoosier tires.

Despite the lengthy scheduling delay, 40 cars still jammed the Thompson pits in hopes of capturing the season's final event. Jerry Marquis earned the Bud Pole Award as the event's fastest qualifier. Marquis blistered the 5/8-mile oval in 18.830 seconds (119.490 mph) to earn his first pole of the year. 

As per series rules, the top eight drivers drew for starting positions with Tony Hirschman selecting the #1 starting position. Making the day even more special was Tony's son Matt drew the #2 spot for an all-Hirschman front row, while series points leader Teddy Christopher started 10th in the 32-car field.

The 125-lap race began with Tony Hirschman taking the early lead. On the 10th circuit, Teddy Christopher made contact with the wall ending his day and effectively ending his chance for the championship. Hirschman gave up the lead to eventual race winner Jerry Marquis on the 46th lap. Marquis relinquished the lead on lap 51 to John Blewett, III, but regained the lead for good on lap 102 en route to his third win of the season. Marquis earned $7,250 for the top finish.

Chuck Hossfeld, who started 17th, finished in second place 2.3 seconds behind the race winner. Doug Coby finished third followed by Mike Christopher, Charlie Pasteryak, Mike Stefanik, Anthony Ferrante, Jr., Alex Hoag, Ken Barry and Steve Whitt in fourth through tenth, respectively. Fifteen of the 32 starters finished the race on the lead lap. The race was slowed seven times for cautions for a total of 37 laps.

The night, however, belonged to Tony Hirschman who with his 12 place finish captured his fifth NASCAR Modified Tour championship. Tony's son Matt finished in 24th place after an accident. 

Hirschman stated after the race, "The Hoosier tires have been great all year. They were consistent all season and consistency wins championships." 

Hoosier Open Wheel Asphalt Product Manager Irish Saunders commented, "It was a great season with the championship not decided until the final event. Tony (Hirschman) and Teddy (Christopher) battled it out the entire year and, along with all the race teams, made this a season to remember." 

Saunders added, "As special a day as it was winning the championship, I know it was also very special to Tony to start alongside his son Matt in the season finale. Tony is a proud father who also happens to be a champion driver." 

Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. extends its congratulations to Tony Hirschman on winning his 5th NASCAR Modified Tour Series championship and appreciates all the competitors in the series for using Hoosier tires throughout the exciting 17-race season.   



Final Point Standings

 1. Tony Hirschman   2749
Ted Christopher  2731
 3. Chuck Hossfeld   2666
 4. Jerry Marquis    2647

 5. Eric Beers       2470
 6. Donny Lia        2469
7. Doug Coby        2327
 8. Rick Fuller      2236
 9. Mike Christopher 2202
10. Zach Sylvester   2178


Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright 2005 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.
 Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.