Take the Checkers !Hoosier Racing TireTake the Checkers !




2001 NASCAR Featherlite Modified Champion: Mike Stefanik (Photo courtesy of Howie Hodge)THOMPSON, CT (October 21) -- NASCAR Featherlite Modified driver, Ted Christopher, won the final race of the season capturing the 125-lap Xtramart World Series of Auto Racing Sunday afternoon at Thompson International Speedway. The win was Christopher's second of the season and was worth $7,475. Mike Stefanik, who entered the event locked in a three-way battle with Jerry Marquis and John Blewett, III, won the 2001 series championship after finishing in second place, after one of the most exciting seasons in series history. Also of note, Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. and NASCAR entered into a 3-year pact which officially names Hoosier as the exclusive tire for the series through the 2004 season.

Ted Christopher won the Bud Pole Award for being the fastest qualifier at 18.726 seconds or 120.154 mph around the 5/8-mile oval. The ten quickest then drew for their respective starting positions. The draw placed John Blewett, III on the pole with Mike Christopher alongside. Blewett, entered the race tied with Jerry Marquis, just 20 points behind Stefanik in the points chase. 

Blewett immediately jumped out to the early race lead before Mike Stefanik, who started in fifth place, moved into the lead on lap 17. Stefanik led until lap 31, when Bud Pole winner, Christopher, took the lead after starting sixth. Christopher would lead until lap 53, when Stefanik regained the race lead.  

Blewett's championship hopes ended on lap 58, when after a restart, the New Jersey driver's rear end let go, leaving the battle for the series title up to Stefanik and Marquis.

Christopher regained the race lead from Stefanik for good on lap 66. The race ended with Ted Christopher taking the win and collecting $7,475. Mike Stefanik came home runner-up, ahead of both title challengers, thus giving the Coventry, Rhode Island driver the series crown. Rounding out the top five was Jerry Marquis in third after starting ninth, Charlie Pasteryak in fourth and Tony Hirschman in fifth.

Other races notes, Eddie Flemke finished sixth after starting way back in 27th place. The 125-lap event had just three caution flags for 25 laps, as 13 of the 32 race starters finished on the lead lap.

The exciting 2001 NASCAR Featherlite Modified Series season came to a climactic close Sunday as Mike Stefanik captured the series championship with 2993 points, followed closely by Jerry Marquis with 2968 points. John Blewett, III completes his successful season in third place with 2891 points.

Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. extends congratulations to Mike Stefanik on his championship and to John Blewett, III and Jerry Marquis for the season long battle they waged with the champion. Hoosier also extends it's appreciation to all the competitors and fans who made the 2001 NASCAR Featherlite Modified Series a success. Our hope is, that with the new long term exclusive tire supplier agreement with NASCAR, many more seasons like the one just completed loom near on the horizon.



Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright 2001 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.
 Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.