Take the Checkers !Hoosier Racing TireTake the Checkers !




Jerry Marquis after capturing the season opener at Thompson International Speedway (photo courtesy of Howie Hodge and modseriesscene.com)THOMPSON, CT (April 7) -- Jerry Marquis, the 2000 NASCAR Featherlite Modified Series Champion, won the season opener at Thompson International Speedway on Sunday. Marquis led the final 37 laps of the 150-lap race en route to collecting $7,280 for the win. Starting tenth, Marquis patiently worked his way through the highly competitive 38-car field before guiding his Chevrolet into the race lead. 

L.W. Miller won the Bud Pole Award after circling the 5/8-mile track with a speed of 120.469 mph. The top ten qualifiers drew for their respective starting spot with Tony Ferrante, Jr. drawing the pole with Charlie Pasteryak alongside. 

Those leading the event were: Ferrante, Pasteryak, Todd Szegedy, Rick Fuller, Ted Christopher and Marquis.

Marquis moved into the race lead on lap 114 and went on to capture the win. He also won the Gatorade Front Runner Award for leading the most laps (37). 

Marquis collected $7,280 for the win. After starting 14th, Robbie Summers finished in second place. The finish was Summers' best-ever in the series and was worth $3,985. Rounding out the top three was Chris Kopec. Kopek started back in the 19th position and pocketed $3,250 for the final podium position.

Rick Fuller finished fourth and Tony Hirschman fifth. 

The next race on the series schedule is April 28, at Stafford Motor Speedway.   

Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. is proud to be the exclusive tire supplier to the NASCAR Featherlite Modified Series.


Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright 2002 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.
 Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.