Take the "Checkers" on Hoosier Tires!Hoosier Racing TireTake the "Checkers" on Hoosier Tires!




Sege Fidanza surrounded by friends, family and crew members after winning the 53rd Race of Champions Modified 200 at Oswego Speedway.OSWEGO, NY (September 20) -- "That's the way racing used to be." commented Irish Saunders Hoosier's Open Wheel Asphalt Product Manager referring to Saturday's 53rd running of the Sunoco Race of Champions event at Oswego Speedway. The Race of Champions attracted many past champions such as four-time winner George Kent, 1998 winner Sege Fidanza, two-time winner (1989, 1997) Tony Hirschman, and Jan Leaty who won in 1996--the first year the R.O.C. event was moved to Oswego, and last year's winner Tim Mangus among the 42 entrants. There were also several father and son tandems competing in the race including Tony and Matt Hirschman, George and J.R. Kent, Buck and Patsy Catalano, and Jan and Mike Leaty. In the words of Saunders "The annual event was an awesome gathering of racing's past, present and future stars." When the 200-lap race was over, Sege Fidanza was the winner of the Sunoco Race of Champions Modified 200. The Lancaster Speedway Track Champion collected $10,000 for the win. George Kent finished in second place narrowly missing his 5th win in the annual event, while Tony Hirschman finished in third place. 

Hoosier tires were run by all the race competitors. Oswego Speedway employs a Hoosier "tire-rule" to reduce the cost of racing for its competitors. Dave French was the Hoosier Tire Dealer for the event and is supplied by Hoosier Tire East in Manchester, CT.





Finish  / Car # / Driver


1.         77            Sege Fidanza
2.         26            George Kent
3.         48            Tony Hirschman
4.         6              Kenny Troyer
5.         11            Jim Willis
6.         69            Tommy Cloce
7.         16            Jan Leaty
8.         75            Jeff Ulrich
9.         8              Earl Paules
10.       81            Bill Mislin
11.       76            Zane Zeiner
12.       09            Bobby Osgood
13.       40            Patsy Catalano
14.       14            Richie Coy
15.       15            Anthony Sesely
16.       28            Andy Szapacs
17.       95m         John Markovic
18.       93            Tim Mangus
19.       95            Lee Sherwood
20.       44            Rick Kluth
21.       52            Matt Hirschman
22.       18            Josh Gregg
23.       00            Ted Christopher
24.       74            Eric Beers
25.       71            Rick Zacharias
26.       45            Tony Hanbury
27.       25            Mike Leaty
28.       22            Chuck Hossfeld
29.       99            Pete Brittain
30.       29            Kim Jennejohn
31.       4              Buck Catalano
32.       84            Larry Jackson
33.       34            Rusty Smith
34.       80            Jimmy Kuhn
35.       72            T.J. Potrzebowski
36.       89            Donnie Staubitz
37.       46            Mike McLaughlin
38.       12            Tom McGrath
39.       59            Karl Hehr
40.       88            Billy Putney
41.       30            J.R. Kent
42.       36            Matt Wentz  


Other winners during the event also included; Andre Roggie in Mini Stock, Shawn Dunning in Late Model, George Catanzano in IMCA, Bob Geiger in Street Stock, Rick Zacharias in Sportsman, Jeff Price in Cup Lite and Gregg Davis in NORA.      

Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. congratulates all the teams, drivers and fans who made the 53rd running of the Race of Champions a coming together of past, current and future racing champions.



Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright 2003 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.
 Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.