Take the Checkers !Hoosier Racing TireTake the Checkers !




Team-HoosierLAKEVILLE, IN -- It was another "perfect" weekend for Team-Hoosier at Williams Grove, Lincoln and Port Royal Speedways in Pennsylvania. On Friday night, Lance Dewease won the feature at Williams Grove and then won the 30-lap feature at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday in an All Star Circuit of Champions sanctioned event. Todd Shaffer completed the undefeated weekend for the purple team by capturing the weekly feature race at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday. The three race sweep by Team-Hoosier now extends their season long streak to an astounding 18 wins and no defeats.   

Thirty-one cars were on hand for the weekly 410 sprint race at Williams Grove Speedway Friday--24 on Hoosier tires. In the 25-lap feature, 20 of the 24 race starters were on Hoosier tires. Lance Dewease charged from tenth to first using a pair of Hoosier D12's en route to capturing his second feature of the year and 51st of his career at Williams Grove Speedway. Dewease earned $3,000 for the win.

Team-Hoosier took 19 of the top 20 finishing positions in the feature. Sean Michael, Greg Hodnett and Tim Kuhn finished second through fourth, respectively. 

Team-Hoosier has now accumulated a stellar 8-0 mark  since the season began at Williams Grove. Chad Layton won the 358 sprint feature which had 17 of the 24 starters using Hoosier tires. It was Layton's third win of the season.

The weekly sprint race at Lincoln Speedway was an All Star Circuit of Champions sanctioned event. Lance Dewease made it two in a row when he won the 30-lap feature on Saturday and collected the $5,000 top prize. Dewease started fourth and charged into the lead on lap nine en route to the win-his fourth All Star win of the year. It was also his 16th career win at Lincoln and 18th career All Star win.

Thirty-five of the 39 cars on hand for qualifying elected to ride on Hoosier tires. Greg Hodnett posted fast time on Hoosiers with a lap of 13.424 seconds (101.948 mph).  

All four heat race winners also rode on Hoosier tires. Fred Rahmer, Cris Eash, Doug Esh and Johnny Mackison, Jr. were each heat race winners.

The 4-lap dash featured an "all-Hoosier" field. Greg Hodnett won the dash followed by Lance Dewease, Sean Michael, Dean Jacobs, Chad Kemenah and Danny Smith. 

In the 30-lap feature, 23 of the 25 race starters rode on Hoosier tires. Brook Weibley led the first nine laps before giving way to the hard charging Dewease. Dewease led the remainder of the way to capture the win and the $5,000 payout. Sean Michael and Greg Hodnett finished second and third, respectively, as the first 13 drivers to cross the finish line were using the Hoosier brand. Team-Hoosier has now amassed a perfect 8-0 record at Lincoln Speedway.

After Keith Kauffman's season opening win at the end of March at Port Royal Speedway, four consecutive weekends of racing were either cancelled or postponed due to rain. So, it was nice to complete only the second race of the season after a month of inclement weather. Todd Shaffer won the 25-lap feature and pocketed the $2,500 winner's check. The top five finishers in the feature opted to ride on Hoosier tires. Rounding out the top five were: Keith Kauffman, second; Todd Hestor, third; Alan Cole, fourth; and Rick Lafferty, fifth. 

Team-Hoosier is now 2-0 at Port Royal Speedway. Add them all up, and the mark is 18-0 at the three central PA tracks. 

Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. would like to thank all the teams, drivers and fans who have made the 2002 season so special.  


Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright 2002 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.
 Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.