Take the "Checkers" on Hoosier Tires!Hoosier Racing TireTake the "Checkers" on Hoosier Tires!




Sammy Swindell in victory lane after winning the $6,000 feature at Devil's Bowl Speedway. (photo courtesy of www.sprintbandits.com)MESQUITE, TX (March 19-20) -- Sammy Swindell will go down in the record books as the first-ever feature winner in the newly formed Sprint Bandits Series after winning Friday night's $2,500-to-win 25-lap feature at Devil's Bowl Speedway. On Saturday, Swindell completed the event sweep when he led all 30 laps in the $6,000-to-win feature race. The $8,500 will come in handy to repair Swindell's 410 sprint car after he collided with another car on the race's cool-down lap. Thinking there was still one to go, Zach Chappell collided with the slowing Swindell causing the veteran and his ride to flip in turn four. Thankfully no one was injured, but Swindell's car had to be towed to victory lane. The Sprint Bandit Series is in its first season and was developed by Chili Bowl Midget Nationals co-founder Emmett Hahn. The 24-race series uses a Hoosier-only right rear tire-rule. Competitors can use either a MEDIUM or HARD Hoosier 105/18.0-15 sprint tire.

MESQUITE, TX (March 19) -- Twenty-six cars were on hand for the Sprint Bandit Series opening race. Series rules require heat races to be run first with qualifying races held afterward. Heat race winners included; Jason Martin, Jeff Day and Wayne Johnson. In qualifying races, Tony Bruce, Jr., Daryn Pittman, and Kevin Ramey were winners.

In the 25-lap feature, per series rules, Jerrod Hull earned the pole position as a result of earning the most passing points in heat and qualifying races. But it was outside pole-sitter Gary Wright taking the lead at the drop of the green flag. Wright led until power plant woes ended his hopes for a win. As a result, Jerrod Hull took over the race lead. But his time out front would last just five circuits before third starting Sammy Swindell took over at the point. Swindell led the remainder of the distance to capture the series first feature win while pocketing $2,500.

Finishing in second place was seventh starting Aaron Berryhill followed by 18th starting Daryn Pittman. Zach Chappell finished fourth and Shane Stewart in fifth. Rounding out the top ten were Danny Jennings, Steven King, Kelly Kinser, Terry McCarl and Danny Smith in sixth through tenth, respectively.

MESQUITE, TX (March 20) -- Friday's top four finishers were locked into the first four spots for Saturday's $6,000-to-win feature with the remaining competitors fighting it out for their starting spot through the heat and qualifying races. 

Kelly Kinser, Travis Rilat, and Gary Wright each won their respective heat races, while Foster Landon, Danny Jennings and Danny Smith won qualifying races.

In the 30-lap feature, Sammy Swindell led wire-to-wire en route to collecting the $6,000 winner's prize after starting on the pole. Shane Stewart finished in second place after starting eighth in the field. Zach Chappell finished in third followed by Daryn Pittman and Wayne Johnson. Completing the list of top ten finishers were Terry McCarl, Steven King, Danny Jennings, Jerrod Hull and Foster Landon.

As a result of his two victories, Sammy Swindell stands alone atop the Sprint Bandits Series point standings with 300 points followed by three drivers all tied with 286 points each. 

The next scheduled event is a no-points race at Tennessee's Memphis Motorsports Park in a non-wing challenge versus the USAC competitors.

For more information on the new and exciting Sprint bandits Series visit their website at www.sprintbandits.com


Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright 2004 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.
 Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.