Hoosier Racing Tire

From left: David Donohue, Kevin Fandozzi, Scott Pruett. Photo credit: Brian ClearyDAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Feb. 1, 2012) - Kevin Fandozzi, who earned the 41st annual RRDC Mark Donohue Award for his spectacular Touring 3 class victory at the 2011 SCCA National Championship Runoffs last September, was presented the award at RRDC’s annual dinner prior to the running of the 50th Anniversary Rolex 24 At Daytona.

Originally scheduled to be awarded at the 2012 SCCA National Convention in March, the Road Racing Drivers Club board members elected to present the trophy to Fandozzi in Daytona as part of the RRDC’s 60th-anniversary celebration. The award is given in the name of Mark Donohue for personal spirit and performance at the SCCA National Championship Runoffs.

Every year, the RRDC Mark Donohue Award is an engraved glass top mounted on a selected racing-experienced wheel, provided by an RRDC member. The 2011 wheel was donated by Grand-Am team owner Chip Ganassi. It had seen racing action on the Target Chip Ganassi with Felix  Sabates Lexus Riley that won both the 2007 and 2008 Rolex 24 At Daytona races. RRDC member Scott Pruett, who was on board for both victories, made the presentation, alongside Mark’s son David, also a member of the RRDC.

“It’s a privilege for me to present this award to Kevin in my dad’s name for all that he represented, especially within the SCCA community,” said David Donohue.

Added Pruett: “Looking around the room and seeing an unbelievable group of drivers who represent the heritage and history of the RRDC is very exciting for me. I feel honored just to be here.

“It’s exciting also for us, especially Chip as the leader of the Ganassi organization, to give something to the RRDC on behalf of our team, and something that is significant. We’ve been fortunate to have won the Rolex 24 At Daytona several times. In fact, the 01 car finishing every lap of this race for the last four years has been nothing short of spectacular.

“We are excited to support this great organization of road racing drivers and to contribute to the Mark Donohue Award. Congratulations, Kevin.”

“What an honor it is to be here to accept this award,” said Fandozzi, a former GM engineer who won at the Runoffs racing in the rain on dry (Hoosier) tires. “This is very special and it gives me an opportunity to celebrate a significant event in a sport that I’ve grown to love.

“In racing, when the actual event passes, it takes on a life of reflection. When the actual driving fades away you begin to see what this award really is. It’s a symbol of two things: one, the approach to racing as pioneered by the man for whom this award is named; and, second, the people who have given me the knowledge along the way. I believe firmly that they are completely responsible for my being a part of this award. Thank you to everyone.”

About the RRDC:
The Road Racing Drivers Club was formed in 1952 as a way to give champion drivers a say in their sport, particularly in the areas of safety, and has evolved to serve the future of road racing by mentoring new drivers on both amateur and professional levels. The Club’s membership includes leading industry professionals, race officials and motorsports journalists, in addition to prominent racing names.

In 2011, the RRDC launched a free on-line training seminar - www.safeisfast.com - featuring more than 30 RRDC members and other industry experts in high-quality videos covering subjects from physical and mental preparation to driving techniques, driver safety to car setup and sponsorship. The videos are updated regularly.

President Bobby Rahal is the 1986 Indy 500 winner and is co-owner, with David Letterman, of the 2004 Indianapolis 500 winning Rahal Letterman Racing team. Ten-time SCCA National champion John Fergus is the Club’s Vice President/Treasurer, and five-time SCCA National champion Tom Davey is the Secretary.

In addition to RRDC members lending their expertise to up-and-coming drivers, the Club presents three annual awards: the Phil Hill Award for rendering outstanding service to road racing; the Mark Donohue Award for personal spirit and performance at the SCCA National Championship Runoffs; and the Bob Akin Award – the top award presented to amateur and semi-professional racers – for speed with style, passion, sportsmanship and contribution to motorsports.

The RRDC also supports the Team USA Scholarship, which has been assisting young Americans in the early stages of their careers since 1990.

Membership in the RRDC is by invitation only. Additional information on the organization may be found at www.rrdc.org.


Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright © 2012 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.
 Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form