Hoosier Racing Tire




Rick Eckert wins the 2011 WoO Late Model Championship on Hoosiers! (photo courtesy of Barry Lenhart)CONCORD, NC (November 3-5, 2011) -- The World of Outlaws Late Model Series closed its 2011 season in dramatic fashion Saturday night at The Dirt Track at Charlotte.

After Thursday's qualifying, Jonathan Devenport led wire-to-wire in Friday's 50-lap opener to claim the $10,000 prize. 

Davenport was among 28 starters in the 29-car field competing on Hoosier tires including the top 19 finishers in the night's feature race.

Davenport raced to a World Finals victory using a 1350 rib left rear and a NRM-W wide 1450 right rear tire.

In Saturday's finale, Jimmy Owens passed Friday's winner, Jonathan Davenport, on lap nine en route to claiming the final race win of the season. 

For the second night in a row, 28 of 29 starters rode on Hoosier tires. 

Jimmy Owens opened up his Charlotte notebook and raced to the win on a 1450 rib left rear and a 11.0/29.0-15 1600 right rear combination--the same compounds that carried him to victory in the past two WoO World Finals.

But the bigger story was Rick Eckert, 45, claiming his first-ever World of Outlaws Late Model championship when he passed Josh Richards on the final lap of the season-ending finale to finish 12th. 

Richards, the 2-time defending series champion, suffered a cut tire on the race's last-lap and finished a distant 18th. 

In the end, Eckert captured the title by 14 points over Richards who appeared to be on his way to his third consecutive title when the pneumatic disaster struck. 

The televised drama played out before a packed house of more than 14,000 race fans. 

Eckert utilized a Bloomquist chassis mounted atop Hoosier tires throughout his championship run. 

The York, PA driver relied heavily on Hoosier's new NRM right rear tire to carry him to 3 victories, 16 top five and 25 top 10 finishes in 32 series events. 

The champion was not the only driver to trust Hoosier tires on the WoO tour. In fact, all 32 series events were won by drivers riding on the purple tire brand. 

At Sunday's awards banquet more than $400,000 in cash and awards were handed out including a $100,000 check presented to Rick Eckert for winning the 2011 World of Outlaws Late Model Series title.  

Final Standings
 1.  Rick Eckert                        4472
 2.  Josh Richards                  4458
 3.  Darrell Lanigan                 4304
 4.  Tim McCreadie                  4178
 5.  Chub Frank                        4174
 6.  Austin Hubbard                4140
 7.  Shane Clanton                  4134
  8.  Clint Smith                         4064 
 9.  Vic Coffey                          3966
 10.  Tim Fuller                           3948   

Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. is proud of the fact that the top 25 drivers in the final WoO point standings raced on Hoosier tires.

For more information about the World of Outlaws Late Model Series visit www.woolms.com


Hoosier Racing Tire

Tires Designed For Champions


Copyright 2011 Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. All rights reserved.
 Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form